Medical City Fort Worth April 27, 2016

Fort Worth, Texas (April 27, 2016) – Lynn O’Neill, chief nursing officer (CNO) of Medical City Fort Worth, has been elected to serve as a voting member of Medical City Fort Worth's 14-member board of directors.

Currently, only about six percent of U.S. hospital board members are nurses, although nurses comprise the largest single component of hospital staff and are the primary providers of hospital patient care.

“Nurses understand the day-to-day workings of a hospital better than any other profession,” said Nasim Akhtar, M.D., chairman of the Medical City Fort Worth board of directors. “Nurses truly run the front lines of hospitals, so we as a board want to give nursing leadership a greater voice at Medical City Fort Worth. We look forward to the experience and expertise that Lynn O’Neill will add as a voting member of our hospital board.”

Clay Franklin, chief executive officer of Medical City Fort Worth, commented that “Medical City Fort Worth’s board is committed to the mission of Medical City Fort Worth – to the care and improvement of human life. The board’s decision to add Lynn O’Neill, our CNO, is a testament to our board’s passion for nursing care and patient outcomes.”

O’Neill has more than 30 years of experience in progressive nursing leadership positions. She joined Medical City Fort Worth as CNO in August 2014 after serving nine years as CNO at Medical City Lewisville, a sister HCA hospital. O’Neill began her career as a staff nurse at The University of Chicago Comer Children’s Hospital, where she eventually worked her way up to serve as executive director and chief nurse.

Earlier this year, O’Neill was honored as a “Healthcare Hero” by the Fort Worth Business Press.

O’Neill received a diploma in nursing from South Chicago Community Hospital School of Nursing, a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Purdue University and an MBA from Keller Graduate School of Management. She is certified in executive administration by the American Nurses Credentialing Center and is a fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives.