Medical City Fort Worth August 22, 2018

FORT WORTH – Medical City Fort Worth resident Matthew Brandon Barker, D.O. will be named the 2018 Outstanding Resident of the Year by the American Osteopathic Foundation during its 2018 AOF Honors Gala on October 5 at the Marriott Marquis in San Diego, California.

The Outstanding Resident of the Year Award recognizes medical professionals for their exemplary work, demonstrated leadership and steadfast clinical performance. 

“It is an honor to receive this award,” said Barker.  “I chose to become an Osteopathic Physician because of my interest in Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine (OMM) and my passion for this type of patient care has only grown as I have studied and practiced it.”

Dr. Barker graduated with his Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine degree in 2015 from Western University of Health Sciences in Pomona, California.  He is currently a resident physician at Medical City Fort Worth with a specialization in Integrated Family Medicine and Osteopathic Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine.  Dr. Barker’s anticipated completion date is June 2019.   

About Medical City Fort Worth

Medical City Fort Worth, is licensed for 320 beds and offers comprehensive diagnostic and treatment services in a wide range of specialties, including cardiac care, neurosciences, oncology, surgical services, orthopedics, kidney transplants and emergency care. A part of the Texas Stroke Institute stroke care network, Medical City Fort Worth is also a Joint Commission certified chest pain center, a designated comprehensive stroke center, and a designated Magnet® facility for nursing excellence.

Medical City Fort Worth is part of Medical City Healthcare. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

About the American Osteopathic Foundation

Since 1949, the American Osteopathic Foundation (AOF) has served as the philanthropic heart of the osteopathic medical profession. The AOF supports programs and services that promote osteopathic medicine and enhance patient-centered care.  Contributions to the AOF benefit thousands of osteopathic medical professionals through grants, awards and scholarships to students, physicians and programs.

SOURCE:  American Osteopathic Association